The Official Website of Gene Autry, America's Favorite Singing Cowboy

Fun Autry Fact:

Gene tried to play the saxophone when he was a youngster. He finally gave up and turned successfully to the guitar.

Record Information

Cowboy Hall of Fame

Originally Released:

November 2008

33 1/3 LP Record Album
Gene Autry's Republic Records
Produced by Carl Cotner
Engineered by Brian Friedman

Here's an excerpt from the album jacket notes by Carl Cotner, General Manager of Republic Records:

Being the singer and showman that he is, Gene recognized the value of the great Western songs that were being written. In his own style, he performed these songs in his movies with the script being written around the song. Later, on his radio show, he called them "Cowboy Classics." And Cowboy classics they are, because the Cowboy and his songs are as much of our American heritage as Mom's apple pie.

When Mr. Autry was asked to make an album it was no great surprise that he wanted to include a "few" of these great songs from his movies. After some researching it was found that there was no way to include just a "few" of these songs. Finally the decision was made to do an entire album of "Cowboy Classics."

Again the decision was right and Republic Records is proud to present Gene Autry's Cowboy Hall of Fame.

Track Listing

Side 1

  1. Intro – Back in the Saddle (0:19)
  2. Silver Spurs (2:16)
  3. Take Me Back to My Boots and Saddle (3:12)
  4. Twilight on the Trail (3:03)
  5. Rainbow on the Rio Colorado (2:59)
  6. Mule Train (2:19)
  7. The Last Roundup (3:17)

Side 2

  1. Riders in the Sky (3:08)
  2. Tumbling Tumbleweeds (3:16)
  3. Red River Valley (2:30)
  4. Ridin' Down the Canyon (2:25)
  5. Cowboy's Trademarks (2:49)
  6. Home on the Range (2:36)
  7. Let the Rest of the World Go By (2:53)
Back to Vintage Index